The Husband’s Secret- Liane Moriarty

The Husband’s Secret– Liane Moriarty

The Husbands Secret is hands down one of the best books that I have read this year. The story line had me desperately turning pages as I found myself completely engrossed and intrigued by each of the characters and where their lives were headed. Despite the fact that I had heard amazing things about this book, I was initially quite sceptical about picking it up. I had been putting off reading this one as books with multiple narrators seem to make me feel an uncomfortable sense of anticipation which more often than not turns into frustration. Maybe this is because I’m impatient and hate being left on a cliff hanger, unnecessarily forced to wade through anther character’s life story when I NEED TO KNOW what happened. My scepticism was quickly alleviated however as Moriarty handles the transitions seamlessly, tying all the narrators’ stories together quite early in the book so that any sense of discomfort on the reader’s part is immediately eased.

Cecilia Fitzpatrick leads a seemingly perfect life with adorable children and a husband that she feels completely secure and satisfied with. Her life is completely turned upside down when she finds a letter from her husband to be opened in the event of his death. Moriarty hooks the reader with a sense of intrigue surrounding the letter, but manages to keep the suspense alive even after the contents of the letter has been revealed. The story then switches to Tess whose husband announces that he is in love with someone else, leaving her with some major moral decisions to make. The third narrator that we meet is Rachel, a mother grieving over her daughter’s murder years after the fact.

The way that these stories intertwined fascinated me as Moriarty proved many plot twists that I absolutely did not see coming. I really enjoy characters that are morally questionable and this book certainly delivered in that department. The way in which the complex relationships between the women were presented fascinated me, as each character came with their own unique set of values. This book was well written and kept me hooked until the very last page. This would be the perfect summer read as although it quite an easy read, it will definitely get you thinking.

If you enjoy books that eloquently combine mystery and romance- this one is for you.

I give The Husband’s Secret 5 out of 5 stars.

4 thoughts on “The Husband’s Secret- Liane Moriarty

  1. Donna says:

    I really like the sound of this book. I saw it in the only thrift shop that sells English books two months ago but I did not have my wallet on me. I went back the next day and it was gone 😦 I’ll bump it up the top of my wishlist. Loved your review!

    Like

Leave a comment